How Do You Do That Again?

Screen Shot 2013-11-25 at 9.47.04 PMI find myself asking that question more often than not during the editing process of my documentary. I filmed for about two weeks in the summer, and about three hours each day. That adds up to countless (42 actually..) hours of film to review, label, then edit. When I used to watch movies, I typically never questioned how they got a shot from the edge of a cliff, or something exploding in the middle of the street. Being a broadcast communications major and going through capstone, however, has changed my perspective drastically. Instead of asking, “How do you do that again?” I’m usually saying, “Can you even do that?” Fortunately, I don’t have a multi-million dollar budget and a multitude of fans to worry about, but some things still prove themselves quite difficult.

In the midst of everything happening at Camp Halo, I wasn’t able to get interviews with my friends Allie and Dayna, both of whom were integral in the film and the mission of Camp Halo. I’ve had to adjust accordingly, but I know I have to make sure they get the credit they deserve. In the actual editing, I’ve had trouble putting adequate audio underneath some of my interviews. Other than those and a few other technical issues, the biggest challenge is putting together something that the parents and counselors of the children would find to be worth watching.

On the best part about editing a documentary like this is watching each and every shot I filmed during the summer, and being able to look back on those moments with great joy. At the end of my presentation on December 7, I want people to feel just how much love and peace I felt during my time at Camp Halo. I know some moments in this documentary process will reflect my time at Camp Halo. Some were filled with laughter, some with frustration, others with joy, but it was all worth the time and effort to tell a truly heartfelt story.

Leave a comment